Introduction

Recently for an app I’ve been creating I had to create a ExitForm Doctrine Entity. So I simply created the following code:

<?php

// src/AppBundle/Entity/ExitForm.php
namespace AppBundle\Entity;

use Doctrine\ORM\Mapping as ORM;

/**
* @ORM\Entity
* @ORM\Table(name="exit")
*/
class ExitForm
{
   ...

Then after that I ran the standard Symfony commands to generate getters/setters and update the database:

php bin/console doctrine:generate:entities AppBundle/Entity/ExitForm
php bin/console doctrine:schema:update --force

Everything looks fine an ran without any errors

Checking on the MySQL Database

Then, I went into MySQL and ran the following commands:

show tables;

It showed all my tables, and it showed “exit” as one of the tables. Then I ran this command:

describe exit;

It gave me errors. I struggled for a awhile trying to figure out what the problem was, but then I figured it out, “exit” is a MySQL Reserved Word. So instead of using that I changed my code to this:

/**
* @ORM\Entity
* @ORM\Table(name="exitform")
*/
class ExitForm
{

Everything worked correctly after that. This is just a lesson never to use a Reserved Word.